All-women expedition to Mt. Manirang flagged off

The Minister of State for Youth Affairs & Sports and Information & Broadcasting (I/C), Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore handing over the expedition ice axe along with flags to Ms. Bimla Negi, leader of an all-women expedition to Mt. Manirang (Himachal Pradesh), in New Delhi on August 07, 2018. The Principal Director General (M&C), Press Information Bureau, Shri Sitanshu R. Kar is also seen.

The Minister of State  for Youth Affairs and Sports Col. Rajyavardhan Rathore today flagged off an all-women expedition to Mt. Manirang in Himachal Pradesh. Col.Rajyavardhan Rathore commended the effort of India Mountaineering Foundation to send the all women expedition team to Mt. Manirang to commemorate the silver jubilee of the 1993 expedition. He said that it sends a wonderful message to the society, that if given an opportunity, the girls can also rise to the challenges and make a mark for themselves.

The Minister said that it also indicates that the children should be given an opportunity to decide as what they want to do in the future. Col. Rathore said that Prime Minister has been saying that those who play will flourish. He said the expedition to Mount Manirang includes the girls from some states which have no snow or mountains and it shows the grit and determination of the girls to opt for such a challenge.He emphasised on the need for more funds and exposurefor adventure sports in the country.

The 19-member expedition team to Mt. Manirang is being led by Ms Bimla Negi, a veteran mountaineer who was a member of the 1993 team. The team also includes nine members of the 1993 team in addition to young women mountaineers, who hail from different states of the country like Uttrakhand, West Bengal, Sikkim, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Gujarat, Manipur and Himachal Pradesh.  The expedition is expected to make the summit attempt around 24th August, 2018.

The Indo-Nepalese women’s Everest expedition in 1993 was the first all women expedition, launched by Indian Mountaineering foundation,funded by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The 21-member team was led by Ms. Bachendri Pal.


For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App