Eight-member panel for appointment of Lokpal

After delaying the process of constituting Lokpal, Narendra Modi government today taken a major step by constituting an eight-member search committee, to be headed by former Supreme Court judge Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai, to recommend the chairperson and members of the anti-corruption ombudsman.

Former SBI chief Arundhati Bhattacharya, Prasar Bharati chairperson A Surya Prakash and Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) head A S Kiran Kumar are the members of the search committee.

According to an official order issued by Personnel Ministry, besides them, Justice Sakha Ram Singh Yadav, former judge of Allahabad High Court, Shabbirhusein S Khandwawala, former Gujarat Police head, Lalit K Panwar, retired IAS officer of Rajasthan cadre, and Ranjit Kumar are the other members of the panel.

The search committee is a major step towards setting up of the Lokpal. The committee will start its functioning soon.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App