Congress-JD(S) combine set to win in 4 bypoll seats, BJP 1

Congress-JD(S) is surging ahead in at least four of the five seats. VS Ugrappa of Congress is leading by 2.14 lakh votes in Bellary Lok Sabha seat. JD(S) is ahead in Ramanagara where HD Kumaraswamy’s wife Anitha is leading by 1.09 lakh votes.

Congress candidate Anand Nayamgouda officially announced as winner in Jamkhandi, by a margin of 39,482 votes. Congress workers celebrate outside the counting station in Bellary. JD(S) candidate LR Shivaramegowda leads by 2.49 votes in Mandya.

The saving grace for BJP is that BS Yedyurappa’s son BY Raghavendra leads by 47,388 votes in Shimoga, However, he will win with a much smaller margin. Last time BSY won by over 3.5 lakh votes.

Congress’ ‘Man Friday’ and troubleshooter, D K Shivakumar has done it yet again! By ensuring his party candidate, V S Ugrappa’s victory in Bellary Lok Sabha constituency, Shivakumar has created a history of sorts in the mine-rich district.

Foremr prime minsiter and JD(S) supremo HD Devagowda has thanked the people of Karnataka for supporting development-centric administration of JDS-INC Government. People of the state have given their response to those who were trying to destabilise the state Government, he said.

Former Congress chief minister Siddaramaiah said that people of Ballari have cursed BJP’s G Janardhana Reddy for his inhuman behaviour. The outcome of the Karnataka bypoll is expected to have a bearing on the equations between the Congress and the JDS for the 2019 general elections.

Counting of votes began this morning, in five by-elections held on November 3 to fill the vacancies caused in three Lok Sabha and two assembly segments in Karnataka. Around 66 per cent of the 54.5 lakh electorate voted in the five by-elections.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App