Sri Lankan Parliament votes against PM Rajapakse

In another big jolt to President Maithripala Sirisena, the Sri Lankan Parliament today, passed a no-confidence motion against the government headed by his controversially-appointed Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa.

The Parliament met for the first time since October 26, when President Sirisena sacked prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and suspended the Parliament plunging the island nation into a crisis.

Parliament Speaker Karu Jayasuriya announced that a majority of the 225-member assembly supported the no-confidence motion against Rajapaksa, who was appointed by President Sirisena as prime minister on October 26, in place of Wickremesinghe.

“According to the voice, I recognise that the government has no majority,” Jayasuriya announced in the House as Rajapaksa supporters protested. He gave the ruling after the no-confidence motion was taken for a vote.

The Speaker calculated the votes based on the voices he heard as Rajapaksa supporters disrupted the proceedings. Jayasuriya later adjourned the House until 10 am Thursday.

Wickremesinghe’s United National Party (UNP) Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa later said that the Government clearly lost the floor test. He demanded that Prime Minister Rajapaksa must now step down as he does not have majority support in Parliament.

Earlier, In a major boost to sacked Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, the Supreme Court in a landmark ruling on Tuesday overturned President Maithripala Sirisena’s controversial decision to dissolve Parliament and halted the preparations for snap polls on January 5.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App