BJP expels 11 rebel leaders, including four ministers

Just two weeks ahead of crucial assembly elections, the BJP in Rajasthan has expelled 11 rebel senior party leaders, including four ministers in Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje’s cabinet, from the primary membership of the party for six years.

The action has been taken against these leaders for contesting against the official party candidates in the upcoming Rajasthan assembly elections. State party president Madan Lal Saini issued the order for expulsions of these 11 leaders last night, after the last day for withdrawal of nominations.

The expelled leaders include public health engineering minister Surendra Goyal, general administration minister Hemsingh Bhadana, devasthan minister Rajkumar Rinwa and junior panchayati raj and rural development minister Dhan Singh Rawat. The four were denied tickets by the BJP and they filed nominations as Independent candidates.

Meanwhile, BJP sitting MLA from Ramgarh constituency Gyandev Ahuja, who had earlir resigned from the party and later announced to contest as an independent candidate after the party declined to give him the ticket, had later returned to the party after taken back his nomination. He has appointed BJP’s state vice-president.

Earlier also the party had dropped several sitting MLAs as Vasundhara Raje-led Rajasthan government is said to be facing a strong anti-incumbency mood. BJP President Amit Shah and Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje have travelled across the state extensively. Besides BJP, the Congress party is also said to have over 40 rebel leaders, including four former ministers.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App