Sunil Arora to succeed OP Rawat as CEC

Sunil Arora will succeed Om Prakash Rawat, as Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), after Rawat’s retirement on December 2. President Kovind has appointed him as the new Chief Election Commissioner.  However, a formal announcement is yet to be made by the government. This comes amid the ongoing assembly election in five states while Arora’s accession will be immediately followed by elections in Telangana and Rajasthan on December 7 and the counting of votes on December 11.

The Election Commission will hold the big battle of the 2019 general elections under him. Assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Maharashtra, Haryana, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, which are scheduled for next year, will also be held under his leadership.

Arora, who holds the position of an Election Commissioner, was appointed to the EC in August last year. Arora (62) had been the Information and Broadcasting Secretary, and Secretary in the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

A 1980 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre, Arora has worked in ministries and departments such as Finance, Textiles and Planning Commission. He also served as Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Civil Aviation during 1999-2002 and CMD, Indian Airlines for five years (two years as additional charge and three years as full charge).

In Rajasthan, besides district postings in Dholpur, Alwar, Nagaur and Jodhpur, he was Secretary to the Chief Minister during 1993-1998 and Principal Secretary to CM (2005- 2008) and handled Information and Public Relations (IPR), Industries and Investment Departments.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App