TRS Registered Landslide Victory in Telangana

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), registered a thumping victory in Telangana by winning 87 seats, out of 119 seats in the Assembly. The ruling party has maintained unassailable lead from the beginning. It has reflected a clear vindication of TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao’s popularity. It has retained power with almost three-fourth majority.

Despite allegations of perpetuating ‘family rule’, KCR, the caretaker chief minister won from Gajwel constituency by over 50,000 votes. His son K T Rama Rao and nephew T Harish Rao also emerged winner from Sircilla and Siddipet constituencies, respectively. The Congress was left with 19 seats, while its allay TDP won 2 seats. The BJP which contested 118 seats could win only one seat, while AIMIM had retained its 7 seats. Two independents also won in the polls. No one from left parties have won in the polls.

KCR said that it is people’s victory and asserted now it is time for Telangana to play key role in national politics. He said that soon he will go Delhi to meet leaders of various political parties and discuss on providing national alternative. “The people reposed faith in the leadership of our chief minister and they did not believe in the disinformation campaign of the opposition,” said T Harish Rao, a minister in the outgoing government and a nephew of Rao.

However, assembly speaker Madhusudana Chari, four ministers-Tummala Nageswara Rao, Jupalli Krishna Rao, Mahender Reddy and  A Chandula were defeated.

Meanwhile, the Congress-led alliance suffered a huge defeat. The ‘Prajakutami’ leaders faced embarrassment as almost all its top leaders were decimated. Leaders who were seen as the Chief Ministerial candidate in the event of a Congress-led People’s Front victory were also defeated.

K Jana Reddy, who was Leader of Opposition in the dissolved Assembly, lost in Nagarjunasagar constituency.  Congress Working President Revanth Reddy, whose arrest last week triggered a huge row, failed to retain the Kodangal seat. Another Congress Working President, Ponnam Prabhakar, lost in Karimnagar. Former central Minister Sarve Satyanarayana failed to win from Secunderabad Cantonment.

Former Deputy Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Damodar Rajanarasimha lost the election from Andole. Senior Congress leaders and former Andhra Pradesh Ministers J. Geeta Reddy, D.K. Aruna, Jeevan Reddy, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, Ponnala Lakshmaiah, Mohammed Ali Shabbir, Konda Surekha, G. Chinna Reddy, N. Janardhan Reddy and Mukesh Goud were all defeated.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App