Shivaraj Singh resigns, Congress set to form govt.

Stage set for the formation of Congress government, after a gap of 15 years, with the resignation of BJP Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan for his position and also BSP extended support to Congress.  The Congress, which was locked in a tantalising see-saw battle with the BJP in Madhya Pradesh, has emerged as the single-largest party with 114 seats, after the vote count ended this morning.

The party, which was two shorts of the simple majority mark of 116 in the 230-member Assembly, claimed support of independent MLAs. However, it got a shot in the arm after Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati announced her support to the Congress party in both Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, where it fell one short of the majority. The BSP has won two seats in Madhya Pradesh.

“Results show that people in states like Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh were totally against the BJP and its anti-people policies and as a result chose Congress due to lack of other major alternatives,” Mayawati said.

Meanwhle, Chouhan conceded defeat saying he will not stake claim to form the government as the BJP has failed to achieve the majority in the state. “We have decided that we will not stake claim to form the government as we have not achieved clear majority. I am going to meet the Governor and will offer my resignation,” he added. He later met the Governor and tendered his resignation.

She said that although she does not agree with many policies of the Congress, she has agreed to support them in Madhya Pradesh and in Rajasthan to keep the BJP at bay. The BSP won 6 seats in Rajasthan where the Congress now has 99 MLAs in the 200-member assembly. Elections for 199 seats were held as the election on one seat was countermanded due to the death of a BSP candidate.

As per the final results, declared by the Election Commission, after 24 hours of counting, the Congress won 114 seats while the ruling BJP BJP won 109 seats.  The Mayawati-led BSP has won two seats and the Samajwadi Party (SP) has won one seat. Independents form the third largest block after the BJP and the Congress, emerging victorious on four seats. They are all Congress supporters and are said to be close to former Chief Minister Digvijaya Singh.

Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav has also announced support of lone party MLA in Madhya Pradesh to the Congress.  “The Samajwadi Party supports the Congress to form a government in Madhya Pradesh,” Yadav said in a tweet.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App