BJP continue comfortable lead in Assam Panchayat polls

The BJP continued to maintain a comfortable lead in Assam Panchayat Elections 2018 results, even as the counting of votes continued for the second day today, amid elaborate arrangements.

As per official figures till 2 AM, the party had won 1684 seats out of 21,990 Assam Gaon Panchayat Member (GPM) seats. Meanwhile, the Congress is trailing after winning 1050 seats. The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) has bagged 339 seats, CIP 123, CPM 15, AIDUF 117, Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF) 13 and IND 433. The results for 3774 seats have been declared.

The smooth sail for the BJP in Assam Panchayat Election 2018 comes as a breather following its stunning defeat in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh in Assembly Election 2018.  The BJP is also leading in Assam Anchalik Panchayat Member Election Results. Out of 2,199 seats, it has won 172 seats while the Congress has bagged 92 seats. The AGP is victorious on 27 seats, CPI 0, AIDUF 23, BPF 0 and IND 11. The results for 325 seats have been declared.

In Assam Gaon Panchayat President results, the BJP is ahead of the Congress by over 60 seats. While the saffron party has won 159 seats, the INC has bagged 99 seats. The counting of votes on 357 seats out of the total 2,199 seats has concluded.  The counting of votes in DC, Bongaigaon and Kamrup (M) Zila Parishad Constituencies is underway. The BJP has won 2 seats out of 420 till now while, one seat has been bagged by the AGP.

Over 78,000 candidates are in the fray for polls and 734 were elected uncontested. A total of 82 per cent voting was recorded in the two-phase elections held on December 5 and 9 to elect 21,990 GPM, 2,199 GPP, 2,199 APM and 420 ZPM across the state.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App