KCR takes oath as Telangana CM for second consecutive term

TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao, who led his party TRS, to a resounding victory in the assembly elections, was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Telangana, for a second straight term, this afternoon.

He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor ESL Narasimhan at the Raj Bhavan here.  Chandrasekhar Rao began taking the oath precisely at 1.25 P. M., the time chosen as auspicious for the occasion by priests. He took the oath in the name of God. Following him Mohammed Mahmood Ali took oath as Deputy Chief Minister.

The oath-taking ceremony was attended by all TRS MLA elects, TRS MPs K Kavitha, Santosh Kumar AIMIM president and MP Asaduddin Owaisi, top bureaucrats, senior police officials, former Speaker S Madhusdhana Chari and members of families of the newly elected MLAs.

Rao has indicated yesterday, he would extend his cabinet in full form on December 18. Earlier, he was unanimously elected leader of the TRS Legislature Party by the newly-elected MLAs, yesterday. The MLAs met at the Telangana Bhavan, the TRS headquarters in Hyderabad, and took the decision unanimously.

In the December 7 elections, the TRS has won 88 seats in the 119-member assembly, trouncing the Congress-led People’s Front, which ended up with a tally of 21. Later two independents also joined with him, increasing his strength in the assembly to 90.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App