Bhupesh Baghel as new CM of Chhattisgarh

After days of uncertainty, Congress today declared its Chief Ministerial candidate candidate for Chhattisgher, where the party will be forming its government, after a gap of 15 years. The Congress Legislature Party today elected its Pradesh Congress Committee president Bhupesh Baghel as its leader. He will be sworn in as Chief Minister of the state on Monday.

As four senior leaders – Bhupesh Baghel, TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu and Charan Das Mahant – were vying for the post, party president Rahul Gandhi and other senior leaders have been in consultation to find out consensus in the party on this issue.

After the legislature party meeting, party central observer Mallikharjun Kharge announced election of Bhupesh Baghel. “Celebrations are in order in Chhattisgarh as Bhupesh Baghel is appointed CM. We wish him the best as he forms a govt. of equality, transparency & integrity starting off with farm loan waiver for farmers as we promised,” Congress announced on its Twitter handle. 


Bhupesh Baghel is credited with playing a crucial role in a landslide victory of the Congress in Chhattisgarh. Congress won 68 seats in the 90-member Chhattisgarh assembly. Representing Patan Assembly constituency in Durg district, Baghel is the president of Chhattisgarh Congress since October 2014.

Baghel will be Chhattisgarh’s third chief minister and the Congress’s second CM in the state. He is a leader of the Kurmi community.

Speaking after the Congress Legislative Party meeting in Raipur, Baghel said the Congress government will “unravel the conspiracy” that led to the killing by Maoists of top Congress leaders in the Jheeram Valley in Bastar in May 2013, including the then state Congress chief Nandkumar Patel, the veteran VC Shukla and Mahendra Karma.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App