8 Cong MLAs sworn into Karnataka cabinet

After months together political dramas, finally Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy today expanded his six-month old cabinet, inducting eight members from its coalition partner Congress.

Two ministers — Ramesh Jarkiholi (Municipal Administration) and R Shankar (Forest and Environment) — were dropped. The new ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy at the Glass House at Raj Bhavan by Governor Vajubhai Vala amid tight security.

The new ministers joined the cabinet are Satish Jarkiholi, M B Patel, C S Shivalli, M T B Nagaraj, E Tukaram, P T Parameshwar Naik, Rahim Khan and R B Thimmapur. Seven of them are hailing from north Karnataka.

Meanwhile, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, who has cleared the names for induction into the cabinet last evening, has also approved the appointment of Jewargi MLA Ajay Singh, son of former chief minister, the late Dharam Singh, as Delhi Representative.

Predicting the possibility of dissent in the Congress soon after the cabinet expansion, BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa said that the axing of Municipal Administration Minister Ramesh Jarkiholi from the cabinet, would have a major bearing on the coalition government.

As the cabinet expansion was taken up keeping in view of the need to streamline the dissidence within Congress so that to face 2019 Lok Sabha polls unitedly, it is yet to be seen how far this would cover up dissidence within the party.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App