Jasdan Election Results 2018: BJP Wins Gujarat Bypoll

Gujarat Minister and BJP candidate Kunvarji Bavalia has won Jasdan assembly seat with an impressive margin of 19,985 votes, against Congress candidate  Avsar Nakiy. With this seat, BJP strength in Gujarat assembly goes to 100.


By-election in Gujarat’s Jasdan assembly constituency was necessitated after Congress leader and Koli community leader Kunvarji Bavaliya left the Congress and joined the BJP; he was named a cabinet minister in the Vijay Rupani government in July.


The five-time MLA, Bavalia had won the seat on Congress tickets in 1995, 1998, 2002, 2007 and 2017. Since the formation of Gujarat in 1960, the BJP has won this seat only once — in the by-election held in 2009 when Bavaliya vacated the seat after being elected to Lok Sabha from Rajkot.


The result showed that the voters remain loyal to Kunvarji Bavaliya, who has represented them for decades. On July 2, earlier this year, he was inducted into state cabinet, on the very same day he resigned from Congress and joined BJP.


For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App