Ghelot expanded cabinet with 23 ministers

Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot, exactly a week after becoming chief minister of the state for the third time, today expanded his cabinet with 23 ministers. They include 22 Congress and one RLD MLAs. Governor Kalyan Singh administered the oath of post and secrecy to 13 cabinet ministers and 10 ministers of state at a ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan in Jaipur. 

Those who took the oath are: BD Kalla, Shanti Kumar Dhariwal, Parsadi Lal Meena, Bhanwar Lal Meghwal, Lal Chand Kataria, Raghu Sharma, Pramod Jain Bhaya, Vishvendra Singh, Harish Choudhary, Ramesh Chand Meena, Udai Lal Anjana, Pratap Singh Khachariyawas and Saleh Mohammad.

Govind Singh Dotasara, Mamta Bhupesh, Arjun Singh Bamaniya, Bhanwar Singh Bhati, Sukhram Vishnoi, Ashok Chandna, Tikaram Jully, Bhajanlal Jatav, Rajendra Singh Yadav and RLD’s Subhash Garg took oath as state ministers.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot took oath on December 17 in Jaipur. The Congress, which won 99 seats, reached the majority-mark along with a single lawmaker of Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal, Subhash Garg; he has been given cabinet rank as the Congress tries to keep allies on board.


Eighteen in the new government are first-time ministers. Congress leaders say there are two Rajputs, two Vaishyas or members of the business community, one Muslim, four Jats, three Scheduled Tribes, four Scheduled Castes, three representing Other Backward Classes and one Gujjar.There is one woman, Mamta Bhupesh, who was sworn in as Minister of State. The former royal from Bharatpur, Maharaja Vishwendra Singh, has also been included in the cabinet.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App