CM Bhupesh Baghel inducts nine ministers

Chhattisgarh chief minister Bhupesh Baghel today in his first expansion of cabinet inducted nine Congress MLAs,  including a woman legislator, as ministers. With this, the strength of Bhupesh Baghel-led Cabinet has gone up to 12. Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath to the new ministers during a function held at the Police Parade Ground in Raipur.

Two other Congress legislators — T.S. Singh Deo and Tamradhwaj Sahu — had taken oath as ministers on December 17, after Bhupesh Baghel was sworn in as chief minister.

Those sworn in today included four-time MLA Mohammad Akbar, the lone Muslim face inducted into the Cabinet, former Leader of Opposition Ravindra Choubey, Jaisingh Agrawal and two-time MLA Umesh Patel. Woman MLA Anila Bhedia, and Kawasi Lakhma and Premsai Singh Tekam were the tribal leaders inducted into the Cabinet.

State Congress’s working president Shiv Kumar Daharia and Rudra Guru, belonging to the Scheduled Caste community, were also sworn in as ministers.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App