Andhra Pradesh High Court comes into being

More than four and half years years after its bifurcation to create Telangana, Andhra Pradesh got its own high court in Vijayawada today. Governor E S L Narasimhan sworn-in Acting Chief Justice C Praveen Kumar and 13 other judges at a function.

President Ram Nath Kovind had last week issued orders for a separate High Court of Andhra Pradesh. Till now, the high court in Hyderabad had been functioning as the common high court for both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

The 13 judges sworn in are Justices S V Bhatt, A V Sesha Sai, M Seetharama Murti, U Durga Prasad Rao, T Sunil Chowdary, M Satyanarayana Murthy, G Shyam Prasad, J Uma Devi, N Balayogi, T Rajani, D V S S Somayajulu, K Vijaya Lakshmi and M Ganga Rao.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu called it a “historic day”.  “I am very happy legal administration is beginning in the state today. With the inauguration of the high court, the state bifurcation process has come to an end, barring distribution of assets,” he said.

As the temporary building to accommodate the high court in the state capital here was not ready yet, the state government converted chief minister’s camp office in Vijayawada into ad-hoc court premises.

Nine court halls would function here. Another court hall would be set up in the R and B guest house on the MG road. The justices allotted to Andhra Pradesh reached Vijayawada on Monday evening and were lodged in prominent hotels and state guest houses

Supreme Court Judge Justice N V Ramana inaugurated the ad-hoc premises in the presence of the chief minister and others. While the temporary building is expected to be ready by the end of January, the actual high court complex will be built in another three years. Over 70 per cent of cases in the united High Court are said to be now transferred to AP High Court.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App