AIADMK, TDP members suspended from Lok Sabha

A day after suspending 26 AIADMK members from Lok Sabha for five days, the remaining days of winter session last evening, today the Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has again suspended 19 more members, of which 11 are from TDP and the remaining members of AIADMK. They were suspended for the remaining four days.

As soon as the Zero Hour commenced at noon, AIADMK and TDP members trooped in the Well, raising slogans and carrying banners demanding stalling of a dam on river Cauvery and special state status to Andhra Pradesh respectively. As the disruptions continued, the Speaker suspended 19 MPs of the two parties.

Amidst cries of “We want justice! We want justice!”, Speaker warns protesting TDP, AIADMK members stating “You have come to the well of the House and constantly abusing the rules of the House. I will call your names.” The Speaker then proceeds to suspend the members for four days, by which the Winter Session of Parliament would have concluded. The Speaker subsequently adjourns the House till 2 p.m. The AIADMK has 37 members in the House. The Winter Session will conclude on January 8.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App