Three Telangana MLCs disqualified

Three members of the State Legislative Council, K Yadava Reddy, R Bhoopati Reddy and Sabavat Ramulu Naik have been disqualified as members of the Council by its Chairman K Swamy Goud. They have been disqualified under rules pertaining to anti-defection.

The announcement of the disqualification follows a complaint by Telangana Rashtra Samiti that the three members, who became members of the House as Telangana Rashtra Samiti party representatives, had worked for Congress party in the recent Assembly elections and indulged in anti-party activities.

The disqualifications will come into force with immediate effect. While Ramulu Naik was appointed as an MLC under Governor’s quota, Yadava Reddy was elected under the MLAs quota while Bhupathi Reddy was elected to the Council under the local bodies quota. A fourth TRS MLC, Konda Murali, who joined the Congress before the December Assembly elections, had already resigned from the Council.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App