Virat Kohli becomes first to win all top ICC Awards

Team India captian Virat Kohli has emerged as the first player, who bagged all top honours at ICC award. He has swept the ICC Awards that were declared on Tuesday.

Kohli bagged Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year, Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year and also won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. The cherry on top is Kohli named as captain of the ICC Test and ODI XI for the year 2018. This makes Virat the first man to win all these awards in one go!

“It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game,” Kohli said.

“To be rewarded in this manner from amongest all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation,” he continued.

Appreciating Kohli’s contribution, ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said that this is well-deserved recognition for extraordinary talent. His regard for the game and particularly for Test cricket is also recognized and appreciated. He is passionate in his support of the longest form of the game and its continued importance, he added.

In the last year, Virat scored 2,735 runs with an average of 68.37 in 47 innings. This mountain of runs includes 11 centuries and nine fifties. Virat is not the only Indian to feature in the ICC Awards recipient’s list. Rishabh Pant, who was the talk of the town during Team India’s Australia tour, has been named the Emerging Player of the Year. 

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App