Karnataka CM regrets seer Shivakumara not awarded Bharat Ratna

Karnataka Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy has  regretted that the Government of India  did not confer Bharat Ratna on the southern state’s iconic Lingayat seer Shivakumara Swami, who passed away at Tumakuru on Monday.

It may be recalled that several politicians of Karnataka expressed conern that Prime Minister Narendra Modi couldn’t find time to offer condolences to the 111-years-old seer personally. During funeral, several leaders urged the central government to confern Bharat Ratna to the seer.

After hearing that three people were conferred Bharat Ratna, Kumaraswami said that it is disappointing that Bharat Ratna was not awarded to late Siddaganga seer from Tumakuru posthumously.

Kumaraswamy and other political leaders from the state have been urging for the highest civilian honour to be conferred on the late seer, who set up several educational institutions across Karnataka to provide free education to crores of poor students.

Meanwhile, the Chief Minister congratulated those from the state who were chosen to receive Padma awards. Actor Prabhudheva, Indian Institute of Science (IISc)’S physicist and professor Rohini Godbole, archaeologist Sharada Srinivasan, sarod player Rajeev Tharanath and environmentalist Saalumarada Thimmakka were chosen from Karnataka for Padma awards.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App