Ahead of budget, Karnataka CM removes dissenting Congress MLA Dr Umesh Jadhav

Hours ahead of the state budget, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy today  made a last-minute announcement where he removed dissenting Congress MLA Dr Umesh Jadhav from the post of the chairman of the Warehouse Corporation. Pratap Gowda Patil will be replacing Jadhav.

Meanwhile, Basanagouda Daddal, Congress MLA from Raichur has been appointed as the chairman of Maharshi Valmiki Scheduled Tribes Development Board. Making Karnataka’s fluid political situation more slippery, seven MLAs of Congress and three of  abstained from the Assembly’s Budget Session, yesterday, fuelling speculation of defection.

As three of BJP MLAs too abstained from the Session yesterday, it has prompted the BJP to initiate the exercise to keep its flock of MLAs intact. Sources did not disclose the name of these three MLAs.

In the 224-member Assembly, Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) has 37 MLAs, while Congress has 80 members. Ever since the Congress-JDS jointly formed the government in Karnataka in May last year, there have been murmurs of resentment among them.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App