Cong to seek disqualification of 4 ‘rebel’ MLAs

In a swift move to save the Karnataka coalition government from collapse with few Congress MLAs deserting them, fromer Chief Minister and Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah has decided to disqualify four of his party MLAs by using anti-defection provisions, as they failed to attend legislature party meeting, held this morning.

Four of them are not attending Budget session of the Assembly, started on Tuesday, besides whip issued by the party. The four rebel MLAs, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Umesh Jadhav, Mahesh Kumathahalli, and B Nagendra.

The four MLAs have already skipped the Congress legislature party meeting last month. While all four responded to CLP chief and former chief minister Siddaramaiah after he issued them a show-cause notice, they have not met him to explain their absence. Therefore, he said, he has decided to approach the spekar, requesting him to take action udner anti-defection law.

The former chief minister said that it was the unanimous opinion of the CLP that he should take appropriate action under the anti-defection law against them. However, BC Patil was also absent during Friday’s meeting but, Siddaramaiah said, he had informed him that he will meet him soon. Patil had also failed to turn up and did not answer phone calls by party leaders.

“All of them have said they can’t come till February 15. Sufficient opportunities have been given to these MLAs. I had issued show cause notices to them after they skipped the meeting on January 18. I had asked them after they replied to the notices to justify their excuses in the replies. I also told them to meet me personally but they have not turned up so far,” Siddaramaiah said during a press conference.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App