DMK gives Congress 10 seats in TN, Puducherry

A day after AIADMK and BJP reached poll alliance, the DMK and Congress has formally announced their alliance for the Lok Sabha elections in the state, last evening. The Congress will contest in nine out of 39 seats in Tamil Nadu and the lone seat in Puducherry. 

This is the fifth time the two parties are coming together to face parliamentary polls. The main plank of the alliance is expected to be anti-incumbency of the ruling regimes both at the Centre and the State. The DMK-Congress combine had registered grand victories each time they have come together for parliamentary polls (1971, 1980, 2004 and 2009).

Interestingly, unlike the AIADMK-BJP alliance, the Congress and DMK have not finalised the pact for the Assembly bypolls expected to be held for 21 vacant seats. Talks on this will be held once the bypoll dates are announced, the party leaders said.

DMK President, M K Stalin, said, “The constituencies (9 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu and 1 seat in Puducherry) to be given to Congress will be decided in due course of time after holding talks with alliance partners.”

DMK president MK Stalin, for the first time on Wednesday, publicly acknowledged that other parties that had been friendly to DMK in the past two years would be included in the alliance. Most of these parties, such as VCK, MDMK & Left parties, were part of the third front during the 2016 Assembly polls. 

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App