AAP declares candidates for 6 of 7 Delhi seats

Hours after Congress president Rahul Gandhi given clearance to the party Delhi leadership to go for negotiations with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) for possible alliance in Delhi, for the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls, the AAP has unilaterally declared its candidates for six of seven seats in the national capital.

It may be recalled that AAP had tried for alliance with Congress in Delhi, Haryana and Punjab. But AAP chief and Delhi Chief Minister Aravind Kejriwal expressed discontent due to Congress leaders adamant attitude and declared that AAP will go alone.

Primarily, due to strong opposition from former chief minister and Delhi Congress chief Shiela Dikshit, Congress hesitated to go alliance with AAP. She had said a straight no to alliance, which makes Rahul Gandhi uneasy.

Delhi AAP Convenor Gopal Rai, who said that the party will not be entering into an alliance with the Congress, said “AAP wanted the alliance, but the Congress is not ready”.

Now, AAP said that they will field Atishi from East Delhi, Raghav Chaddha from South Delhi, Pankaj Gupta from Chandni Chowk, Dilip Pandey from North East Delhi, Gugan Singh from North West Delhi and Brajesh Goel from the New Delhi Lok Sabha seat. The party has not yet decided who will contest from the West Delhi seat.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App