Karnataka will vote in two phases on April 18 and 23

The 2019 Lok Sabha elections will be held in two phases in the southern state Karnataka, which sents 28 MPS. The poll dates announced for the state are April 18 in Phase 2 and April 23 in Phase 3.

The Congress-JD(S) combine ruling the state has been fighting battles both on the outside and as well as from within. Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has alleged that Karnataka BJP chief BS Yeddyurappa has been trying to buy out JD(S) MLAs in order to bolster his numbers and have a go at government formation.

The coalition government, in turn, is plagued by constant play of one-upmanship between the partners, with former Congress CM Siddaramaiah seen undercutting the present CM’s authority.

In the state assembly elections, held in May, last year, even though the BJP emerged as the largest party, it fell achingly short of the majority mark.It will be interesting to see how voters will make choices come the general elections.

The elections in both the Telugu states – Andhra Pradesh and Telangana will be held in the first phase, April 11. In Kerala, the poll will be on April 23, during third phase. Tamil Nadu goes polls on April 18, in the second phase.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App