Mamata drafted five film stars in her list for LS polls

Two days after Election Commission released poll schedule, West Bengal chief minister and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee is the first leader  who announced today candidates of her party for all 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state. The list include five popular film stars.

The list includes Nusrat Jahan, who will contest from Basirhat and Mimi Chakraborty who will contest from Jadavpur, while Shatabdi Roy and Dev (Deepak Adhikari) and Shatabdi Roy will look to retain their seats in Birbhum and Ghatal, respectively.Veteran actor Moon Moon Sen will fight against BJP minister and Bollywood singer Babul Supriyo from Asansol.

However, Tapas Pal, a veteran actor from Tollywood and Lok Sabha MP from Krishnanagar, wasn’t given a ticket due to his failing health.  In the list, she dropped as many as 10 sitting MPs. She promised that the outgoing TMC MPs, whose names did not figure int he list would be drafted for party work.

She said 41 per cent of the nominees in the list were women. She also said that she will also field candidates in some seats of Odisha, Assam, Jharkhand, Bihar and Andamans.

Banerjee also launched an attack on the BJP and Narendra Modi government. She said she had information that “VVIPs” were using helicopters and chartered flights to transport money to voters. She chief minister attacked the Centre over a host of issues, including the Rafale deal, farm distress and shrinking employment opportunities.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App