BJP sitting MP from Prayagraj joins SP

Giving a big jolt to BJP in crucial state of Uttar Pradesh, ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the party’s sitting MP Shyama Charan Gupta from Prayagraj, today, resigned and joined the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party (SP).

Gupta will contest the general elections as an SP candidate from the Banda parliamentary constituency. According to SP leaders, Gupta visited the party office in Lucknow later in the day and met Yadav, after which he was allotted the ticket.

It is said that Gupta was unhappy with the BJP over reports that he may be denied a ticket from the Prayagraj constituency, which he won in 2014. Gupta had earlier contested the 2009 general elections as an SP candidate from Phulpur.

Later, the Samajwadi Party on Saturday announced the name of it’s one more candidate for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. A party release issued said that Shyama Charan Gupta will be its candidate from Banda Lok Sabha seat.

Meanwhile, in the hill-state of Uttar Pradesh, Manish Khanduri, son of BJP’s senior leader and former chief minister of the state B C Khanduri joined Congress in Dehradun, at a public meeting in the presence of Congress president Rahul Gandhi. Congress is likely to field him in the Lok Sabha polls.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App