No consensus yet on next Goa CM

The BJP-led alliance in Goa did not reach a consensus over the next chief minister,  a move necessitated by the demise of Manohar Parrikar.  Immediately after the demise of Parrikar, the BJP central leadership had deputed Union minister and senior BJP leader Nitin Gadkari and party’s national joint organisation secretary B L Santosh to the state. Soon after arrival, they started consulting MLAs of  BJP and its supporting parties in an attempt to arrive on some consensus on who would succeed Parrikar.

Differences came to the fore during the meetings, with BJP leader Michael Lobo confirming that MGP leader Sudin Dhavalikar placed his unequivocal demand to be made chief minister, which has not found favour with the BJP as well as the Goa Forward Party MLAs and independents.

However, till now, BJP sources says that he could not secure a consensus between the saffron party and its alliance partners in the state. Michael Lobo, Deputy Speaker of the Goa Assembly, said Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) leader Sudin Dhavalikar wanted to be the chief minister due to which the discussions came to a halt.

“Sudin Dhavalikar wants himself to be the CM, while the BJP wants that the leader of the alliance should be from their camp. We could not reach to any decision,” he added.Lobo said BJP MLAs have suggested the names of Vishwajit Rane and Pramod Sawant for the post.

Earlier, Goa Forward Party (GFP) chief Vijai Sardesai, emerging from the meeting, had said that the parties were yet to reach a conclusion. The meeting was inconclusive and “the BJP has informed them that they will get back later during the day,” Sardesai had said.

He said the parties expressed apprehensions on how to proceed in the absence of Parrikar. “We are expecting them to respond to our apprehensions soon,” he added. The GFP leader, however, said the party had not yet shut its doors on the BJP.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App