Goa CM Pramod Sawant wins assembly floor test by 20-15

Within 24 hours of taking charge  as Chief Minister of Goa, following the death of Manohar Parrikar, BJP’s Pramod Sawant, today won the floor test. Among present 36 legislators of the state assembly, 20 MLAs voted favouring Sawant, including 121BJP MLAs.

Earlier in the day expressing confidence to win the floor test, Sawant said “We have 100 per cent confidence that we will win”. While the strength of the assembly is 40, two BJP MLAs dead and two Congress MLAs resigned after their defection to BJP.

While 14 Congress MLAs and 1 NC MLA voted opposing the confidence motion, 121BJP MLAs, three MLAs each of BJP’s allies Goa Forward Party (GFP) and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), besides three more independents votes in support of confidence motion.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App