BJP’s Kalraj Mishra will not contest in LS polls

Most of senior BJP leaders are keeping away from contesting in the ensuing Lok Sabha polls, paving way for complete surrender of the party and its government to the control of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah duo. Though already senior leaders like L K Advani, Murali Manohar Joshi and Shanth Kumar were kept out side the party and government functioning, this time they are denied even chance  to contest in the Lok Sabha polls.

Saddened with the developments in the party, already leaders like Sushma Swaraj and Uma Bharathi declared that they are not going to contest in the polls, stating various reasons. L K Advani;s unhappiness was indicated through his personal assistant stating that till now no communication received from the party seeking his contest in the polls.

Now, former union minister Lok Sabha MP from Deoria, Kalraj Mishra announced that he will not contest in the ensuing general elections. It may be recalled that he was pushed out of the union cabinet after he crossed age of 75 years. He said that “I will not contest the elections this time; I have been given a lot of other responsibilities by the party so my time will be devoted to that.”

 Mishra had defeated Bahujan Samaj Party’s Niyaj Ahmad with a margin of over 2.65 lakh votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. He resigned from the union cabinet in 2017. He was in-charge of the Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App