PM Modi to contest from Varanasi, Amit Shah from Gandhinagar

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will contest from Varanasi, while BJP president Amit Shah will contest from Gandhinagar. Union home minister Rajnath Singh will contest the elections from Lucknow with Nitin Gadkari contesting from Nagpur.

The Bhartiya Janata Party today released its first list of 184 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections which begin from April 11 and end on May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

VK Singh will contest from Ghaziabad, Hema Malini from Mathura, Sakshi Maharaj from Unnao, and Smriti Irani from Amethi. Besides speculations that the party was intent to make big changes among its candidates in states like Uttar Pradesh, most of the ministers and party leaders were retained from their present constituencies.

In Kerala, the BJP has fielded former Mizoram governor Kummanam Rajasekharan from Thiruvanthapuram. Prominent candidates re-fielded by the party includes Ram Kripal Yadav from Pataliputra, Sanjeev Balyan from Muzaffarnagar, Anant Kumar Hegde from Uttara Kannada, Mahesh Sharma from Noida, Prahlad Joshi from Dharwad, Satyapal Singh from Baghpat and Hansraj Ahir from Chandrapur.

The saffron party has also named its candidates for 20 states. The list was finalised after intense deliberations by  the party’s central election committee which has PM Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, home minister Rajnath Singh, finance minister Arun Jaitley, foreign minister Sushma Swaraj and other senior leaders of the party as its members.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App