BJP dropped all 5 sitting MPs in Chhattisgarh

The BJP has indicated a complete `surgery’ in its Chhattisgarh list of candidates by replacing all five sitting MPs, for which the list was announced last night, while the total number of seats are 11. Those dropped  including a union minister of state Vishnudevo Sai, who had won four times from Raigarh seat.

Candidates for all five reserved Lok Sabha seats — Surguja, Bastar, Raigarh and Kanker (reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST)) and Janjgir-Champa (Scheduled Castes) were announced when the party came out with its first.

The party had announced earlier that it will replace all 10 incumbent MPs in the state in the wake of the drubbing it received in the Assembly elections.  Other sitting MPs who do not figure in the first list are Kamalbhan Singh (Surguja), Dinesh Kashyap (Bastar), Vikram Usendi (Kanker) and Kamla Devi Patle (Janjgir-Champa).

Firebrand woman tribal leader Renuka Singh, who was MLA from Premnagar (2003-2008) and served as woman and child development minister in Raman Singh government, has been fielded from Surguja Lok Sabha seat. Another woman tribal leader Gomtee Sai has been fielded from Raigarh.

In Naxal-hit Bastar Lok Sabha constituency, Baiduram Kashyap, a two-time MLA and current BJP Bastar district chief, has been given ticket. Mohan Mandavi has been fielded from Kanker instead of the sitting MP and state BJP chief Vikram Usendi. Former MP from Sarangarh (2004-09) Guharam Ajgale will contest from Janjgir-Champa seat this time. Chhattisgarh will see polling on April 11, April 18 and April 23.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App