BJP dropped several 75-plus veterans

In the first list for ensuing Lok Sabha elections, the BJP has dropped several 75-plus leaders, including party co-founder L K Advani and others such as Guwahati MP Bijoya Chakravarty, Garhwal MP BC Khanduri and Nainital MP Bhagat Singh Koshyari did not figure in the BJP’s first list.

There was no announcement about the fate of veteran Murli Manohar Joshi who is the sitting MP from Kanpur in Uttar Pradesh. Union minister Kalraj Mishra, too, announced that he will not contest the election this time.

“We have also finalised the name of 17 candidates for Bihar, and an announcement will be made at a later date along with the list of our two other allies,” senior BJP leader JP Nadda said at a press conference here. A BJP leader said that three partners of the NDA in Bihar will jointly release the list of all 40 candidates in Patna on Friday.

The party cleared the names for 28 Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh, the country’s most populous state, and denied ticket to six MPs, including union minister Krishna Raj.

CPM veteran Khagen Murmu (Maldah Uttar), Trinamool Congress strongman Arjun Singh (Barrackpur) TMC MP Anupam Hazra (Jadhavpur) too got a BJP ticket in Bengal. They had crossed over to the BJP this month. Union minister Babul Supriyo has been repeated from Asansol, but no announcement was made about Darjeeling, currently held by union minister SS Ahluwalia. The BJP won that seat with the help of the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha in 2014.

Former Mizoram governor Kummanam Rajashekharan will be BJP’s candidate from Thiruvananthapuram and union minister Alphonse Kannanthana from Ernakulam in Kerala. The BJP list also included candidates for Karnataka (21), Rajasthan (16), Andrha Pradesh (21), Telangana (10), Assam (8), Arunachal Pradesh (2), Jammu & Kashmir (5), Uttarakhand (5), Tamil Nadu (5) and some others.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App