Maneka Gandhi, Varun Gandhi, Jaya Prada gets BJP seats

After asking its stalwart and former party chief Murali Manohar Joshi to quit electoral politics, the BJP today replaced Kanpur Lok Seat, presently represented by Joshi with Uttar Pradesh minister Satyadev Pachauri. Putting an end to speculations over re-nomination of union minister Maneka Gandhi, particularly her son Varun Gandhi, BJP today re-nominated them.

However, swapped their seats. While Maneka Gandhi was moved to Sultanpur, won by Varun Gandhi in the last elections, her son was given her present seat Pilibhit. She is a seven-time Lok Sabha member and had won six times from Pilibhit. In 2009, she vacated the seat for son. In 2009, she had won from Aonla.

The BJP today released its tenth list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections declaring 29 nominees for Uttar Pradesh and 10 for West Bengal. As Varun Gandhi is being kept out-side party activities for the last five years, it was speculated this time he may not be given re-nomination.

Meanwhile, veteran actress Jaya Prada, who joined BJP morning, was given her old Rampur seat from UP, to contest against SP’s stalwart Azam Khan.

Another Uttar Pradesh minister Rita Bahuguna Joshi has been given the BJP ticket to contest from the Lok Sabha polls. She is the party’s candidate from Allahabad. Shyama Charan Gupta had won the Allahabad seat in 2014. Gupta recently joined the Samajwadi Party in a major embarrassment to the ruling BJP in Uttar Pradesh.

The Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey is the party candidate from Chandoli while Union minister Manoj Sinha has been named from Ghazipur Lok Sabha seat. Both are sitting MP from their respective Lok Sabha seats. Jagdambika Pal will also seek re-election from his Domariaganj constituency in Uttar Pradesh.

In West Bengal, the party has fielded Humayun Kabir, who switched sides from Trinamool Congress to the BJP in 2018, from Murshidabad. Actor Joy Banerjee is the BJP candidate from Ulberia in West Bengal.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App