Sitting BJP MPs denied seats threaten to walk away

Resentment is brewing among the BJP leaders over ticket distribution as allegations of nepotism and ‘money changing hands’ is flowing thick and fast, dealing the BJP’s prospects of doing well in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections a massive blow. Several sitting MPs in Uttar Pradesh, who are denied renomination are threatening to walk away. They are expressing their resentment openly.

Sitting BJP MP Priyanka Singh Rawat from Barabanki cried bitterly in front of her supporters, last evening, after she was denied ticket. “What was my fault. At least senior leaders should have taken me into confidence, ” she said in a meeting held where party workers staged a protest.

In Ballia where Bharat Singh has been replaced with Virendra Singh Mast, supporters of Singh staged protests and burned effigies of Amit Shah and Mast.  “We will ensure Mast loses this poll if Bharat bhaiya is not given ticket,” the supporters warned.

Babulal Chaudhary is another sitting MP who has been replaced in Fatehpur Sikri. “If I was a suitable candidate in 2014, what happened that party leadership no longer finds me suitable for 2019,” he asked. Anshul Verma, the sitting MP from Hardoi, resigned and gave his resignation letter to the Chowkidar at BJP state headquarters, before he joined the Samajwadi Party.

Union Minister Krishna Raj, who also lost favour with Modi and Shah this time blames a UP minister from Shahjahanpur for denying her a ticket in this election. Senior BJP leader Dr Murli Manohar Joshi, sitting MP from Kanpur, told his supporters a day before the list was announced that the party had asked him not to contest in the election.

BJP has so far announced 61 candidates from Uttar Pradesh replacing 13 sitting MPs with new faces. The leaders who have been denied a party ticket include Dr Murli Manohar Joshi (Kanpur), Savitribai Phule (Bahraich), Rajesh Pandey (Kushinagar), Bharat Singh (Ballia), Anshul Verma (Hardoi), Priyanka Rawat (Barabanki), Chaudhry Babu Lal (Fatehpur Sikri) and Rama Shankar Katheria (Agra).

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App