BJP set to contest record number of LS seats

The BJP is set to contest the highest number of Lok Sabha seats in its history. It has so far announced 408 Lok Sabha candidates, which is 20 less than its 2014 tally of 428. According to party sources, the party is likely to announce its candidates for 30 more seats.

The BJP fielded candidates for 433 seats in 2009, 364 in 2004 and 339 seats in the 1999 polls. Lok Sabha has 543 seats. The BJP is yet to announce its seven candidates for Delhi. The announcement was delayed because of a tug of war within the state unit, and later due to a wait-and-watch strategy the BJP adopted amid seat-sharing talks between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Congress.

The BJP is due to announce another eight nominees for Uttar Pradesh, the country’s most populous state that sends 80 members to Parliament’s lower House. It is yet to finalise names for eight seats in Madhya Pradesh, including Indore and Bhopal. The BJP’s announcement of candidates for the three seats it will contest in alliance with the Shiromani Akali Dal in Punjab, two seats in Haryana and one in Rajasthan, too, is pending.

The BJP is contesting for all seats in both Telugu states- Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, as it has no alliances. The BJP had earlier in 2014 allied with Telugu Desam Party in both the states and contested only limited seats.  in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The BJP is, however, contesting fewer seats in Bihar, Jharkhand and Assam because of alliances, by leaving some of seats it had won in 2014.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App