BJP fields Hardeep Puri in Amritsar

A day after Amit Shah’s meeting with Sunny Deol which sparked speculations that the BJP was trying to rope in the actor to contest from Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency, the saffron party today declared Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri from the prestigious seat.

In its 23rd list of candidates for the ongoing Lok Sabha elections, the BJP declared seven new names, including four for capital Delhi. The BJP also announced candidate from Indore Lok Sabha constituency from where Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan was the sitting MP.

The BJP has named Shankar Lalwani in place of Mahajan who has represented Indore in Lok Sabha since 1989. In Delhi, the party has re-nominated Dr Harsh Vardhan from Chandni Chowk, Manoj Tiwari from North East Delhi, Ramesh Bidhuri from South Delhi and Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma from West Delhi.

It is yet to name candidates for remaining three seats. The BJP had won all seven Lok Sabha seats in 2014 elections.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App