BCCI seeks Arjuna awards to Poonam, Shami, Bumrah, Jadeja

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today recommended the names Poonam Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja as nominations for this year’s Arjuna Award.  Nominating players for the award was on top of the agenda list in the meeting led by GM Cricket Operations Saba Karim.

Among other important discussing factors was the matter of women’s head coach and refer it to the Ombudsman to take a call on the decision-making process.

This apart, the CoA will also proposed the prize money for new tournaments, propose guidelines for utilization of funds granted, discuss the recommendation of ombudsman in the Sachin Tendulkar and V.V.S Laxman matter as also check the progress in the formation of the players association.

According to a senior BCCI official, nomination for Arjuna Awards will be decided on the basis of seniority. “We will decide on the nominees on the basis of their seniority. There will be both men and women cricketers who will be in the list that Karim presents,” he added.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App