AIADMK inches to retain Tamil Nadu assembly

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) inches closer to retain the Tamil Nadu state assembly as it leads in 10 constituencies and its rival Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) in 12 seats.

The state witnessed by-election in 22 assembly constituencies. The AIADMK needs four seats to secure the state government whereas the DMK needs 22 seats. The by-election results are of great significance as they will decide fate of the state leadership which has a minority government in power.

The AIADMK is in coalition with the Bharatiya Janata Party and the DMK has teamed-up with the Congress in this election. AIADMK was leading in Hosur, Manamadurai, Sathur, Sholinghur and Vilathukulam as released by the Election Commission.

DMK was ahead in Ambur, Gudiyatham, Thiruporur and Thiruvarur, the last being the native constituency of late party chief M Karunanidhi. Kamal Hasan’s Makkal Needhi Maiam and T T V Dhinakaran Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam have not made any mark so far.

The early trends indicate that the DMK has got 43.1 per cent votes, AIADMK 39.7 per cent and others have received 16 per cent votes. This is the first time that the two political parties AIADMK and DMK have contested elections without their supreme leaders.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App