Bihar Backs NDA For The Third Time In A Row

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) may have lost to the mahagathbandhan in the 2015 state assembly polls, but it has managed to get the backing of the voters in Bihar for three times in a row.

In 2009, when the NDA performed poorly in the Lok Sabha elections, Bihar was a sweet spot for the BJP-led alliance. It had managed to get 32 of the 40 seats in the state. Nitish Kumar-led Janta Dal (United) (JD(U)) was part of the NDA.

In 2014, the alliance managed to win 31 seats without the JD(U)‘s support. The JD(U), which quit the alliance ahead of the election, had managed to win just two seats. Months later, it had joined hands with the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) to form the mahagathbandhan, which swept the state in the 2015 election.

In 2019, amid a Modi wave much more massive than the one in 2014, the NDA, along with the JD(U), is leading in at least 38 seats of the total 40 in the state. 

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App