BJP crosses majority mark on its own

The BJP has crossed the magic figure of 272 by leading on 283 seats as per the figures put out by the Election Commission website. The Congress is a distant second by leading on leading on 62 seats, while  UPA crossed 100 seats.

The NDA is leading on 342 seats as per media houses which peg the BJP lead figures at 288. The BJP is leading on all the seats in Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh while it has notched a huge lead in states like Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Haryana, Bihar (in alliance with JDU), Maharashtra (In alliance with Shiv Sena) and Delhi.

In one of the closely-watched contests this election, BJP leader Giriraj Singh has bagged 110251 votes in Begusarai (Bihar), accounting for a vote share of around 51.66 per cent. Former president of the student’s union of the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) and Communist Party of India (CPI) candidate Kanhiya Kumar is trailing with 54,951 seats, a vote share of 25 per cent.

In Bihar, BJP and JD(U) both are leading in 16 seats each. Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) of Lalu Prasad Yadav is leading in one seat while Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJSP) of Ram Vilas Paswan is leading in six seats. This means that the NDA is leading on 38 out of 40 seats in the state.

 The Left Democratic Front (LDF) in Kerala, led by the Communist Party of India-Marxist, seems to be heading for a huge setback in the 20 Lok Sabha seats for which initial trends are available. According to initial trends, the United Democratic Front (UDF) is leading in 19 seats.

In the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh, BJP’s key candidates, PM Modi from Varanasi, Rajnath Singh in Lucknow, Varun Gandhi in Pilibit, Hema Malini in Mathura are in the lead. SP candidate Poonam Sinha, wife of ace actor Shatrughan Sinha is trialling in Lucknow. In Allahabad, Rita Bahuguna Joshi of BJP is leading.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App