BJP sweeps Karnataka

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has swept Karnataka giving a severe set back to ruling JD(S)-Congress coalition. It has won as many as 20 seats and leading  in four more seats, while Congress and JD(S) limited to four seats.

The BJP had won 17 out of the 28 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha election in Karnataka, the only southern state where the ruling party at the Centre has consistently performed well. Whereas, the Congress had won nine and JD(S) two in the last general elections.

Particularly, the polls turn to be  a disastrous to the JD(S), as its supreme leader and former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda has lost in the polls and his grand son Nikhil Gouda, son of chief minister HD Kumaraswami was also defeated from prestigious contest in Mandya by the independent candidate and actor Sumalatha. However, Deve Gowda’s another grandson and son of Revenue Minister Revanna is leading. Sumalatha is wife of the late film star and former union minister MH  Ambareesh.

Elsewhere, in Gulbarga Congress veteran Mallikarjun Kharge, too faced a scare after a group of dissident former Congressmen ganged up against him. The BJP fielded Congress rebel Umesh Jadhav as its candidate.

In Shimoga, where there was a battle between the sons of two former chief ministers, too, there was an increase in turnout. Here, Madhu Bangarappa of the JD(S), who is the younger son of former chief minister S Bangarappa, was defeated by BJP state president and former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa’s son BY Raghavendra.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App