India chooses Modi second time with clean sweep

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi addressing a public meeting, at Car Nicobar on December 30, 2018.

The Bharatiya Janata Party is set for a resounding comeback as leads and wins pouring in from all over the country have given the party and its allies an absolute majority for a second term.

The BJP reached the half way mark on its own like last term, but was set to increase 2014’s 282 seats with at least a dozen more. Narendra Modi created history by becoming the only non-Congress Prime Minister to have stomped back to power.

The Congress and allies bettered their tally from 2014, but came a very distant second. The Congress managed 50 odd seats, marginally better than 2014’s 44. The non-aligned parties were also not putting up much of a show, losing ground from last term.

The BJP and its allies were leading in 346  seats, Congress and allies in 95 and the non-aligned parties in 102  seats. The BJP was leading in most Hindi heartland states and had made significant inroads in West Bengal, Odisha and Karnataka, which is held by the Congress and ally JD(S). The Congress was leading in Punjab and Tamil Nadu, where it has teamed up with the Stalin’s DMK.

The SP-BSP mahagathbandhan in Uttar Pradesh was a big failure. The fabled arithmetic failed to live up to its promise. The BJP could well end up with 60 seats. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was leading from Varanasi. Congress president Rahul Gandhi was trailing in Amethi against BJP’s Smriti Irani, but leading from Wayanad in Kerala. UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi was leading from Rae Bareli.

Senior BJP leader and Minority Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi and thanked the people on the BJP’s “big victory” in the Lok Sabha polls. The AAP also congratulated the BJP for its victory and said it hopes that Prime Minister Narendra Modi would do “good work” in his future tenure.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App