Kejriwal congratulates PM Modi for the “historic” win

Delhi chief minister and AAP president Arvind Kejriwal congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the “historic” win of the NDA in the Lok Sabha election. Except North West and South Delhi seats, where the AAP is in the second spot, the ruling party in Delhi came at the third position in all the other five constituencies.

Kejriwal said that he accepted the people’s mandate, after his party lost on all seven seats in the national capital and came third in most of the constituencies.

“I congratulate Sh Narendra Modi for this historic win and look forward to working together for the betterment of the people of Delhi,” Kejriwal tweeted.  “We accept the mandate of the people. We fielded very good candidates and our party workers worked very hard during campaigning,” he said in another tweet. He also congratulated Bhagwant Mann, who won from Sangrur seat in Punjab, and the people of the constituency, saying Mann will continue to raise people’s issues in Parliament.

The AAP had fielded seven candidates in Delhi – Brijesh Goyal from New Delhi, Pankaj Gupta from Chandni Chowk, Raghav Chadha from South Delhi, Atishi from East Delhi, Dilip Pandey from North East Delhi, Gugan Singh from North West Delhi and Balbir Singh Jakhad from West Delhi.

In New Delhi, Goyal lost by over four lakh votes to BJP candidate Meenakshi Lekhi, Gupta lost by over three lakh votes to BJP candidate Harsh Vardhan, Chadha lost by over three lakh votes to BJP candidate Ramesh Bidhuri and Atishi lost by over four lakh votes to BJP candidate Gautam Gambhir. On the other hand, Dilip Pandey lost by over five lakh votes to BJP candidate Manoj Tiwari, Singh lost by over six lakh to BJP candidate Hans Raj Hans and Jakhar lost by over six lakh votes to BJP candidate Parvesh Singh Verma.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App