PM Modi to take oath at 7 pm on May 30

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will take for his second term at 7 pm on May 30, Thursday at the Rastrapati Bhavan. “The President will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of Union council of ministers on May 30 at 7pm,” said a communique from the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

President Kovind had appointed Narendra Modi as Prime Minister on Saturday, minutes after leaders of the 40-member National Democratic Alliance (NDA) called on him after electing the PM as the coalition’s leader. The NDA delegation was led by BJP president Amit Shah, along with Prakash Singh Badal, Rajnath Singh, Nitish Kumar, Ram Vilas Paswan, Sushma Swaraj, Uddhav Thakeray, Nitin Gadkari, K Palaniswami, Conrad Sangma and Neiphiu Rio among others.

The President had sought PM Modi’s advice about those to be appointed members of the Union council of ministers and indicate the date and time of the swearing-in-ceremony to be held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Standing at the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan, PM Modi said that his government wouldn’t waste a moment to get down to work for the people. “President today gave me a letter designating me as the Prime Minister… The country has given me a huge mandate and the mandate comes with the expectations of the people,” Modi had said.

The BJP, which had won 282 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, managed to increase its tally and notched up 303 seats in the 2019 elections.

This will be the first time when a non-Congress party has managed to secure a majority on its own for the second consecutive term after Indira Gandhi had won in 1971. Earlier, Jawaharlal Nehru had performed that feat.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App