Three Bengal MLAs, 52 Councillors Join BJP

In a big blow for West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, three MLAs from her state, including two from her party TMC and one from CPM, besides 52 councillors from her party today joined the BJP at the party headquarters in New Delhi in presence of senior leaders like Mukul Roy and Kailash Vijayvargiya.

This development comes after the party’s strong performance in the state during Lok Sabha 2019 polls. The BJP won 18 seats while the Trinamool’s tally came down to 22 seats. In the assembly by-polls, the BJP outperformed Trinamool by winning four seats versus three with the help of a higher vote share.

Mamata Banerjee was already facing unrest Mukul Roy’s son Subhranshu Roy who was dubbed as “traitor’s son” by the West Bengal Chief Minister. Subhranshu is one of the MLAs who has withdrawn his membership. This makes BJP to get hold over three municipalities in the state.

The joining of 56 councillors – 17 each of Halishahar and Kanchrapara municipalities, including chairman and vice-chairman, and 22 of Naihati municipality – effectively brings the civic bodies under BJP’s control.

The party has also gained the support of the majority of the corporators at Bhatpara municipality, where a no-confidence motion will be brought in soon, local BJP MP Arjun Singh said.

During the Lok Sabha election campaign Prime Minister Modi had claimed that he was in contact  with 40 Trinamool MLAs while insinuating that they are willing to switch over to the BJP.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App