Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM

BJD’s Naveen Patnaik and 20 of his ministers took oath today morning in Bhubaneswar. Patnaik was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ganeshi Lal in a grand ceremony at the Idco Exhibition Ground here.

Ten people debut in Patnaik’s new ministry. Among those are Telkoi MLA Premaanda Nayak, Titlagarh MLA Tukuni Sahu (Woman), Nimapara MLA Sameer Das, Jharsuguda MLA Naba Kishore Das, Kotpad MLA Padmini Dian (Woman), Balikuda-Erasama MLA Raghunandan Das and Junagarh MLA Dibyashankar Mishra.

Meanwhile, among those who retained their ministerial berth are Bikram Arukh, Pratap Jena, Niranjan Pujari, Prafulla Mallick, Ashok Panda and Sushant Singh.

It is the first time Patnaik has taken oath in an open public ground. In 2000, 2004, 2009 and 2014, he was sworn in at the Raj Bhavan. Patnaik sworn-in as Chief Minister for the fifth time. So far only two: Jyoti Basu of West Bengal and Pawan Chamling of Sikkim have been CM for five terms.

Many other BJD leaders who have been allotted portfolios in the ministry also took oath along with Patnaik at the swearing-in ceremony held in Raj Bhavan here. Biju Janata Dal won 112 seats in the Assembly, just 5 less than what it won in 2014 polls.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App