Shah gets home, Rajnath defence, Nirmala finance

Amit Shah, the big entry in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s freshly-minded cabinet, has been given the Home Ministry, Rajnath Singh moved to Defence Ministry and Nirmala Sitharaman appointed the Finance Minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Cabinet, according to a Rashtrapati Bhawan communiqué.

S Jaishankar, widely acknowledged as the surprise entry in this team, has been given the Foreign Ministry. The retired career diplomat was part of a troika with Modi and National Security Adviser Ajit Doval that shaped foreign policy in the early years of the previous Modi government.

Jaishankar and Amit Shah are likely to be the new fac es in the Cabinet Committee on Security. Nirmala Sitharaman, who was in the government’s top security panel by virtue of holding the defence ministry, will also be a member as finance minister. So will Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

The new Cabinet ministers and their portfolios were announced today.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi: Minister of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space; and all important policy issue; and all other portfolios not allocated to any minister

Rajnath Singh: Minister of Defence

Amit Shah: Minister of Home Affairs

Dr S Jaishankar: Minister of External Affairs

Nirmala Sitharaman: Minister of Finance and Minister of Corporate Affairs

Nitin Gadkari: Ministry of Road Transport and Highways and Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

Piyush Goyal: Minister of Railways; and Minister of Commerce and Industry

Smriti Irani: Minister for Women and Child Development; and Minister of Textiles

Ravi Shankar Prasad: Minister of Law and Justice, Minister of Communications, Minister of Electronics and Information Technology

Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’: Minister of Human Resource Development

Ramvilas Paswan: Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Jitendra Singh: Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region, MoS PMO, Ministry of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public grievances & pensions; MoS in the dept of atomic energy & MoS in dept of space.

Gajendra Singh Shekhwat: Minister of Jal Shakti

Dr Harsh Vardhan: Minister of Health and Family Welfare; Minister of Science and Technology; and Minister of Earth Sciences

Prakash Javadekar: Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and Minister of Information and Broadcasting

DV Sadananda Gowda: Minister of Chemical and Fertilisers

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Minister of Minority Affairs,.

Pralhad Joshi: Minister of Parliamentary Affairs; Minister of Coal; and Minister of Mines.

Dr Mahendra Nath Pandey: Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

Narendra Singh Tomar: Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj

Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Minister of Food Processing Industries

Arvind Sawant:  Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprise

Arjun Munda: Minister of Tribal Affairs

Giriraj Singh: Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries

Kiren Rijiju: Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports; Minister of State in the Ministry of Minority Affairs.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App