Amit Shah move for delimitation of J&K Assembly seats

Delimitation of Assembly seats in the restive state of Jammu and Kashmir is said to be on the prime agenda of Home Minister Amit Shah. Soon after taking charge of the ministry, he is said to be making speedy moves in this direction. 

He is reportedly mulling to appoint a new Delimitation Commission in Jammu and Kashmir. In this regard he has been conducting hectic consultations with  Governor Satyapal Malik, Intelligence Bureau Director Rajiv Jain and Home Secretary Rajiv Gauba.

Jammu and Kashmir has been under President’s Rule since December 18, 2018. This is likely to be extended beyond July 3. The idea is to effect a change in the composition of the Assembly through reservation to Gujjars, Bakerwals, Gaddis and Sippis — were given Scheduled Tribe status in 1991 and form 11 per cent of the population.

At the moment there are seven seats reserved for SC in the Assembly, all in the Jammu Division which haven’t been rotated since 1996. At present, the Assembly has 87 elected seats with Kashmir having 46 seats, Jammu 37 and Ladakh four.

The last time a delimitation exercise took place in the state was also under President’s Rule, in 1995 by the Justice (retd) K.K. Gupta Commission.   By fast tracking it before the Assembly elections, the BJP perhaps hopes to gain greater representation in the state legislature that could be done by increasing the number of seats in the Jammu region, and also partly by effecting some changes in the demographies of each seat.  

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App