AP CM Jagan to have 5 deputy Chief Ministers

In an unprecedented move, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy today announced that his cabinet will incluve five deputy Chief Ministers, for the first time in the country.

His 25-member cabinet is scheduled to take oath tomorrow afternoon. Addressing YSR Congress Party Legislative Party meeting, he also indicated that the term for the new ministers will be 30 months (two and half years), so that to give chance for other MLAs to be included into the cabinet, for the remaining 30 months period  of  his government.

Accordingly, he said that one deputy chief minister each will be from SC, ST, BC, minority and Kapu communities. Moreover, he added that half of the ministers will be from these communities.

He also told his legislators that the Cabinet would predominantly comprise members from the weaker sections, contrary to expectations that the Reddy community would get a lion’s share.

In the previous N Chandrababu Naidu government, one each from, Kapu and BC communities were made deputy chief minister. Jagan’s decision to have five deputies is seen as a revolutionary step that is aimed at keeping those communities in good humour.

For Local News and Immediate Delivery, download our Android App